biography

Amaury Faivre  is an acoustic blues artist, celebrating a 20 years of career on more than 800 stages, in a dozen of countries and 3 different continents.

 

Born in Besançon (France), he blows for the first time in his father’s harmonica at the age of 8. This funny instrument never left him, and he naturally started playing the music of the blues pioneers. This is how he manages to escape from the Spice Girls, listening to artists like Robert Johnson, Mississippi Fred McDowell or John Lee Hooker...

He makes a life-changing meeting with Denis Naegely, who raises a very young generation of talented musician. The learning of jazz and its complex harmony will make him a great improviser.  He starts playing guitar and singing, and most of all playing chromatic harmonica which has been a key element to his musical personality ever since.

His career debuts with the Prix du Public at the JMF in Paris at the age of 15, and he rapidly starts gigging with local blues bands, French artists and jazz bands. After a bachelor in musicology at University of Besançon, and two years of jazz guitar studies at the University of Montreal, he comes back to Europe and settles near Geneva.

He starts the duo Electric Hat with Jean Rigo, singer of the Infidèles. They play their eclectic covers, from blues from the 20's to Soul Music, through Rock n'Roll and Jazz, during 10 great years on more than 300 occasions in France, Italy, Switzerland, Canada and the USA. Amaury begins in parallel another 10 years collaboration with the Geneva guitarist Yves Staubitz in the electric blues band Amaury Faivre & the Broken Harps with whom he records a first opus, Ol' Days Feel. Later, Yves follows him among the electric Sidewalk Blues Gang and the acoustic Amaury Faivre Duo.

It is with this duo that Amaury discovers a passion and a certain talent for composition, and he reevaluates completely the importance of the blues in his musical personality. In the first years, the duo only gigs on-demand, but the number of concerts grows more and more, and their energy finally concentrates on this project after their victory of the 2017 Swiss Blues Challenge.

This award gives them the opportunity to represent Switzerland at the 2018 International Blues Challenge in Memphis where they obtain a wonderful place in the Semi-Finals, and they end up on 4th position at the 2018 European Blues Challenge in Norway. After a year filled with beautiful European blues stages (Cahors, Sierre, Vallemaggia, Jazz en Bièvre...) they release the album Crazy Old Man, on the frontiers of blues, jazz and folk, a la Keb' Mo' of Eric Bibb.

 

After years spent backed by electric bands, acoustic duos or even a symphonic orchestra, the very peculiar pandemic context of this beginning of 2020 engages a deep reflexion and the result of it is the solo performance he offers today. With this in mind he releases the album 2020, 11 original titles in English, in a very roots folk-blues genre. Back to his early influences, for which he didn't hesitate to handle banjo and mandolin or to hit hard a gloomy stomp-box !

Amaury conciliates freedom of jazz and emotion of  blues, with a peculiar mastery of the harmonica which gives him the opportunity to offer an intense and upsetting act, surprising and sincere.

Copyright © 2022 Amaury Faivre

Welcome !

Server problem, sorry !

Please wait...

biographie

Amaury Faivre  est un artiste de blues acoustique, qui fête cette année vingt ans de carrière et plus de 800 scènes, dans une dizaine de pays sur trois continents différents.

 

Né à Besançon (France), il souffle pour la première fois dans l'harmonica de son père à l'âge de 8 ans et c'est tout naturellement qu'il se passionne pour les origines du blues. Il échappe ainsi aux Spice Girls de son adolescence avec des cassettes de Robert Johnson, Lightning’ Hopkins, John Lee Hooker...

Il fait une rencontre déterminante en la personne de Denis Naegely, qui forme alors toute une foule de jeunes musiciens bisontins talentueux. L'apprentissage du jazz et de son harmonie feront de lui un improvisateur complet. Il commence alors la guitare et le chant, et surtout l'harmonica chromatique qui est depuis un élément majeur de sa personnalité musicale.

Sa carrière est lancée suite à un prix du public aux Jeunesses Musicales de France à l'âge de 15 ans et il intègre de nombreux groupes de blues, jazz, rock et chanson française de la région avec ses trois casquettes de chanteur, guitariste harmoniciste. Après une Licence de Musicologie à Besançon et deux ans d’études de la guitare jazz à l'Université de Montréal, il rentre en Europe et s'installe à proximité de Genève.

Il fonde alors le duo Electric Hat avec Jean Rigo, chanteur des Infidèles. Ils jouent leurs reprises éclectiques, allant du blues des années 20 à la Soul, en passant par le Rock n'Roll et le Jazz, pendant dix belles années à plus de 300 reprises en France, Italie, Suisse, Canada et Etats-Unis. Amaury entame en parallèle une autre collaboration de dix ans, avec le guitariste genevois Yves Staubitz au sein du blues band électrique Amaury Faivre & the Broken Harps avec qui il enregistre en 2010 un premier opus, Ol' Days Feel. Plus tard, Yves le suit à deux reprises au sein du groupe électrique Sidewalk Blues Gang et de la formation acoustique Amaury Faivre Duo.

C'est avec ce duo qu'Amaury se découvre une passion et un talent certain pour la composition, ce qui lui donne l'occasion de réévaluer complètement l'importance du blues dans sa personnalité musicale. Le duo se produit dans les premières années uniquement sur demande, mais le nombre de concerts augmente peu à peu, et leur énergie se concentre finalement sur ce projet suite à leur victoire au Swiss Blues Challenge 2017.

Ce prix leur permet de représenter la Suisse à l’International Blues Challenge en janvier 2018 à Memphis où ils obtiennent une superbe place en demi-finale, et ils finissent quatrième à l'European Blues Challenge 2018 en Norvège. Après une année remplie de très belles scènes européennes (Cahors, Sierre, Vallemaggia, Jazz en Bièvre...) ils sortent l’album Crazy Old Man, aux frontières improbables du blues, du jazz et du folk, dans la lignée d’un Keb’ Mo ou d’un Eric Bibb.

 

Après avoir été accompagné par des formations aussi diverses qu’un groupe électrique, un duo acoustique ou un orchestre symphonique, le contexte très particulier de pandémie mondial ce début d'année 2020 engage chez lui une réflexion profonde et le résultat en est le spectacle solo qu'il propose aujourd'hui. C’est dans cette optique qu’il enregistre actuellement un second opus qui sortira cet automne 2020, 11 titres originaux en anglais, dans un style folk-blues très roots. Un retour à ses premières influences, pour lequel il n’a pas rechigné à empoigner banjo et mandoline ou à taper sur un stompbox caverneux !

Amaury concilie la liberté du jazz et l’émotion du blues avec une maîtrise rare de l'harmonica qui permet d’offrir un spectacle intense et bouleversant, surprenant et sincère.

Bienvenue !

Petit problème, désolé !

Un instant...

© 2019 Amaury Faivre. Tous droits réservés.