press

Jazztime

 

 

 

 

 

An article in the November Jazztime edition.

No-frilled, very improvised and great charism

 

Amaury Faivre and Yves Staubitz won Swiss Blues Challenge this year in Basel. Their music is influenced by blues, jazz and folk. And their desire for improvisation.

 

Playing harmonica opened him the door for the world and the blues. At 8, he blows his father's harmonica for the first time. Ever since this little instrument followed him everywhere - as long as the blues pionneers he discovers, like Robert Johnson, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Lightning Hopkins or John Lee Hooker. One of his great success has been the Prix du Public at the Jeunesses Musicales de France Challenge in 2001 with the duo "White and Blues" with Sylvain Dubrez. Then Amaury Faivre started gigging with bands like Chris Demolition Blues, Bluesingale, Alfred Massaï or the Soul'd Out Trio.

 

Studies in Besançon and Montreal

At the University of Besançon, he obtains a musicology diploma. The young french musician also started jazz guitar. Denis Naegely was a real inspiring teacher. "I got to understand jazz and its harmony. It made me a real improviser", he explains. After Besancon, he studied to University of Montreal, where he also worked as a sound engineer in parallel. He finally establishes in Geneva where he starts many projects, teaches guitar, singing and harmonica and creates a studio, the "Studio du Four".

 

Simplicity and improvisation

Since 2015, Amaury Faivre appeared as guitar player and singer with the geneva guitar player Yves Staubitz in duo. For this show, Yves exchanged his electric "Telecaster" for an unbelievably great sounding acoustic guitar. They have been playing togethere since 2009 in the blues band "Amaury Faivre & The Broken Harps" and so they know each other very well. As a duo, they represent country-blues and folk, just like a Keb Mo or even a John Mayer. "Our kind of music comes from blues, jazz and folk music. The emotion is strongly inspired by the blues. And a great part of improvisation", explains Amaury Faivre. A music with no frills. In the blues he appreciates expressivity and the freedom to improvise, and also exchange with the audience.

 

Shows in Memphis and in Norway

The duo's victory of the Swiss Blues Challenge this year is a new step for Amaury Faivre and Yves Staubitz. They had reached the finale in 2014 but had to cancel on the last minute. Three years after it worked. "This price is a great honor for us and brings us a lot of publicity. Moreover, we can represent Suitzerland at the International Blues Challenge in Memphis an at the European Blues Challenge in Norway". Just in time for the new festivals season, they considern releasing an album. Along with many shows...

 

Fabrice MULLER

Date

Nov. 2017

Category

Welcome !

Server problem, sorry !

Please wait...

© 2019 Amaury Faivre. All rights reserved.

presse

Jazztime

 

 

 

 

 

Un article dans le Jazztime de novembre.

Peu de fioritures, beaucoup d'improvisation et un grand charisme

 

Amaury Faivre et Yves Staubitz ont remporté le Swiss Blues Challenge cette année à Bâle. Leur musique est influencée par le blues, le jazz et le folk. Et le désir d'improvisation.

Jouer de l'harmonica lui a, pour ainsi dire, ouvert la porte du monde du blues. À l'âge de huit ans, Amaury Faivre souffle dans l'harmonica de son père pour la première fois. Depuis lors, ce petit instrument ne l'a pas lâché - pas plus que les pionniers qu’il lui fait découvrir, tels que Robert Johnson, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Lightning Hopkins ou John Lee Hooker. Un de ses grand succès a été le Prix du Public aux Concours des Jeunesses Musicales de France en 2001 avec le duo "White and Blues" avec Sylvain Dubrez. Alors Amaury Faivre s’est rapidement produit avec des formations telles que Chris Demolition Blues, Bluesingale, Alfred Massaï ou le Soul'd Out Trio.

 

Etudes à Besançon et à Montréal

Plus tard, c'est la guitare qui a ouvert les portes du jazz au jeune musicien français. À l'Université de Besançon, il est diplômé en musicologie. Là, Denis Naegely était une figure formatrice pour lui. "J'ai appris à connaître le jazz et ses harmonies. Le jazz, en plus du blues, a fait de moi un réel improvisateur ", explique le musicien. Après Besançon, il a étudié à l'Université de Montréal, où il a travaillé comme ingénieur du son parallèlement à ses études. Finalement, il retourne dans la région de Genève où il entreprend divers projets, travaille comme professeur de musique et construit un studio, le "Studio du Four".

 

Simplicité et improvisation

Depuis 2015, Amaury Faivre est apparu comme guitariste et chanteur avec le guitariste genevois Yves Staubitz en duo sur scène. Pour le spectacle en duo, le genevois a échangé sa guitare électrique "Telecaster" contre une guitare acoustique au son incroyable. Cependant, les deux musiciens jouent ensemble depuis 2009 dans le projet "Amaury Faivre & The Broken Harps" et sont donc parfaitement coordonnés. En duo, ils représentent le blues country et le folk finement ciselé - à la manière de Keb Mo ou même de John Mayer. "Notre style de musique vient du blues, du jazz et de la musique folk. En particulier, l'émotivité de la musique est fortement influencée par le blues. Ajoutez à cela une forte propension à l’improvisation", explique Amaury Faivre. Une musique sans fioritures. Dans le blues, il apprécie l'expressivité et la liberté d'improviser. Mais aussi l'échange avec le public.

 

Représentations à Memphis et en Norvège

La victoire en duo au Swiss Blues Challenge de cette année marque une nouvelle étape importante pour Amaury Faivre et Yves Staubitz. Amaury Faivre avait atteint la finale en 2014, mais a ensuite dû annuler sa participation au dernier moment. Trois ans plus tard, ça a fonctionné. "Ce prix est un grand honneur pour nous et nous apporte en même temps beaucoup de publicité. En outre, nous pouvons représenter la Suisse au International Blues Challenge à Memphis et au Concours européen en Norvège ", se réjouit le musicien. Juste à temps pour la nouvelle saison des festivals, le duo envisage de sortir un album. De plus, de nombreux concerts sont au programme.

 

Fabrice MULLER

Date

Nov. 2017

Categorie

Bienvenue !

Petit problème, désolé !

Un instant...

© 2019 Amaury Faivre. Tous droits réservés.