biographies

biographies

Amaury Faivre Duo is composed of Amaury Faivre, singer, guitar and harmonica player, and Yves Staubitz who plays guitar as well. The founded an electric blues band after meeting in a jam in Geneva in 2009, and then the acoustic duo  came in 2013.

 

They win the Swiss Blues Challenge 2017 and fly to represent Switzerland at the International Blues Challenge in January 2018 in Memphis where they were semi-finalists, and came back from the European Blues Challenge 2018 in Norway with a beautiful 4th place.

 

Following on a rich and promising season on beautiful stages, they released their first album "Crazy Old Man" which presents originals titles at the frontiers of blues, jazz and folk, with a pure and acoustic sound, warm and sincere, in a Keb’Mo or Eric Bibb spirit.

 

The duo manages to conciliate freedom of jazz and emotion of blues. A unique mastership of harmonica, a ten years old collusion and real improvisation talents give them the opportunity to offer an intense and upsetting act.

Amaury Faivre, in 25 years of career,  stepped on more than 700 stages, in a dozen of countries and 3 different continents.

 

He blows for the first time in his father’s harmonica at the age of 8. This funny instrument never left him, and he naturally started playing the music of the blues pioneers. This is how, in the great years of the Spice Girls, the 2 Be 3 and John Scatman, he enjoys, in the bus on the way to school, listening to artists like Robert Johnson, Mississippi Fred McDowell or John Lee Hooker...

 

He makes a life-changing meeting with Denis Naegely and the MJC de Palente in Besançon (France), where a very young generation of talented musician learn and practice jazz. The understanding of its beautiful and complex harmony will make him a great improviser.  He starts playing guitar and singing, and most of all playing chromatic harmonica which has been a key element to his musical personality ever since.

 

The Prix du Public at the JMF Challenge in Paris in 2001 with the duet White & Blues with Sylvain Dubrez propels him in the professional world and he rapidly starts gigging with blues bands, French artists and jazz bands.

 

After a bachelor in musicology at University of Besançon, Amaury heads for Canada to study jazz guitar at University of Montreal, when he works as a sound engineer as well. He comes back to Europe transformed and full of ambitions. He moves to Geneva and meets Yves Staubitz with whom he creates Amaury Faivre & the Broken Harps. Three years it is obvious to them that their paths will lead them to acoustic guitars and composition, with a brand new project, the Amaury Faivre Duo.

Yves Staubitz starts learning music at 13 after he admires his older brother on stage with a bass guitar.

 

After a few lessons with Christian Graf, one of the best teacher in Geneva, he starts a long self-educated journey. Studies in woodworking and lutherie complete his  practice with a deep understanding of the different materials a guitar made of.

 

Passioned by the blues and electric guitar, he expresses 20 years long his emotive and generous temper through his love for solos and improvisation. He's influenced by people like Buddy Guy or Larry Carlton, and of course by the great Stevie Ray.

 

Finding Amaury was a real musical meeting. One of these meetings you don't let unchecked. Approaching 50, his acoustic guitar gets out of the closet and dives with him in the folk-blues adventure of Amaury and his harp, definitely a move in the right direction !

Welcome !

Please wait...

Server problem, sorry !

© 2019 Amaury Faivre. All rights reserved.

biographies

 

Amaury Faivre Duo est composé du guitariste harmoniciste chanteur Amaury Faivre et du guitariste Yves Staubitz. Après une jam mémorable en 2009 ils fondent rapidement un blues band électrique, puis ce duo acoustique en 2013.

 

Ils remportent le Swiss Blues Challenge 2017 et partent représenter la Suisse à l’International Blues Challenge en janvier 2018 à Memphis où ils gagnent une superbe place en demi-finale, et rentrent de l'European Blues Challenge 2018 en Norvège avec une magnifique quatrième place.

 

Après une année remplie de très belles scènes européennes (Cahors, Sierre, Vallemaggia), le premier album "Crazy Old Man" présente des compositions aux frontières improbables du blues, du jazz et du folk, avec un son acoustique et très pur, chaleureux et sincère, dans la lignée d’un Keb’ Mo ou d’un Eric Bibb.

 

Ce duo réussit à concilier la liberté du jazz et l’émotion du blues. Une maîtrise rare de l'harmonica, une complicité de dix ans et de vrais talents d'improvisateurs leur permettent de vous offrir un spectacle intense et bouleversant.

Amaury Faivre a en vingt ans de carrière pratiqué plus de 700 scènes, dans une dizaine de pays sur 3 continents différents. Il souffle pour la première fois dans l’harmonica de son père à l'âge de 8 ans. Cet instrument injustement méconnu ne l’a jamais quitté, et c'est tout naturellement qu'il se tourne vers les pionniers du blues. Il échappe aux Spice Girls de son adolescence avec des cassettes de Robert Johnson, Lightning’ Hopkins, John Lee Hooker...

 

Il fait une rencontre déterminante en la personne de Denis Naegely, qui forme alors toute une foule de jeunes musiciens bisontins talentueux. L'apprentissage du jazz et son harmonie feront de lui un improvisateur complet. Il commence alors la guitare et le chant, et surtout l'harmonica chromatique qui est depuis un élément majeur de sa personnalité musicale.

 

Un prix des Jeunesses Musicales de France à l'âge de 15 ans lui permet de se lancer dans la profession en intégrant de nombreux groupes de blues, jazz et rock de la région.

 

Une Licence de Musicologie en poche, il part étudier la guitare jazz à l'Université de Montréal, où il travaille parallèlement en tant que technicien du son. Il en revient transformé et rentre en Europe bourré d'ambition. Il rencontre très vite Yves Staubitz avec qui il fonde le blues band électrique "Amaury Faivre & the Broken Harps". Trois ans plus tard il apparait comme une évidence que leur chemin passera par l'acoustique et la composition avec le "Amaury Faivre Duo".

Yves Staubitz commence la musique à 13 ans après avoir admiré son frère bassiste sur scène. Après quelques cours chez Christian Graf, un des meilleurs professeurs de Genève, il commence un long chemin d'autodidacte. Des études d’ébénisterie et de lutherie lui permettent de compléter la pratique de la guitare par une connaissance profonde des différents matériaux qui la composent.

 

Passionné par le blues et la guitare électrique, il exprime pendant vingt ans son côté émotif et généreux à travers son amour des solos et de l’improvisation. Ses influences vont de Buddy Guy à Larry Carlton en passant évidemment par Stevie Ray.

 

La rencontre avec Amaury fut une vraie rencontre musicale. Une de ces rencontres qu’on ne laisse pas passer. A l’approche de la cinquantaine, sa guitare acoustique ressort du placard et plonge avec lui dans l’aventure folk-blues d’Amaury et de son harmonica, bien lui en a pris !

Bienvenue !

Petit problème, désolé !

Un instant...

© 2019 Amaury Faivre. Tous droits réservés.